WE50 2023 – Safety and Security

The Top 50 Women in Engineering for 2023 are (in alphabetical order):

  1. Chisom Akujobi-Ezeonyeka – Power Electronics and Systems Engineer, Rootwave Ltd
  2. Mary Allan – Principal Radiation Protection Scientist and Head of Profession, Atomic Weapons Establishment (AWE)
  3. Sarah Bailey – Hardware Engineer, Leonardo
  4. Niamh Barker – Graduate Engineer, Arup
  5. Dr Beth Barnes – Assistant Professor in Engineering, Durham University
  6. Sholeh Behzadpour-Shaw – Senior Engineer Industrial Cyber, Heathrow Airport Ltd.
  7. Dr Marzia Bolpagni – Associate Director – Head of BIM International, Mace
  8. Sue Caccavone – Operations Manager – Asset Management, Binnies (UK) Ltd.
  9. Caroline GCHQ
  10. Patrizia Carpentieri – Principal Blast Engineer, Arup
  11. Kelly Cary – Managing Consultant – Transport Planning, Atkins
  12. Dr Clara Cheung – Senior Lecturer in Mechanical, Aerospace and Civil Engineering, University of Manchester
  13. Sarah Clark – Head of Technology Centre, Atomic Weapons Establishment (AWE)
  14. Natasha Dunkinson – Aerospace Engineering Degree Apprentice, BAE Systems
  15. Jennifer Edwards – Senior Systems Engineer, UK Space Agency
  16. Verena Fernandes – Senior Civil Engineer, Wokingham Borough Council
  17. Dr Nicolette Formosa – Senior Research Engineer in Technology, National Highways
  18. Mariella Gallo – Associate Director Arup Resilience Security and Risk, Arup
  19. Charlotte Goodwill – CEO, Institute of Telecommunications Professionals
  20. Ana Gorgyan – Director of Engineering, Independent Power Corporation PLC
  21. Sally Hall – Senior Engineer, Frazer-Nash Consultancy
  22. Dr Amina Hamoud – Lecturer in Systems Engineering, University of West of England
  23. Laura Hoang – Senior Human Factors Engineering Consultant, Environmental Resources Management Ltd
  24. Lauren Jenkins – Engineering Capacity Lead, Defence Equipment and Support
  25. Svetlana Joao – Structural Engineer and ICE President Future Leader, Institution of Civil Engineers
  26. Emma Johnsén – Personal Care R&E Director, Europe, Middle East & Africa, Kimberly-Clark
  27. Laura Joryeff – Principal (Engineering Safety) Consultant, Corporate Risk Associates (CRA)
  28. Eleni Kastrisiou – Engineer, Arup
  29. Susan Khan – Head of Hardware Engineering, Thales Ground Transportation Systems
  30. Holli Kimble – Chief Engineer, Defence Equipment and Support
  31. Dr Eluned Lewis – Team Leader Survivability, QinetiQ Defence and Security
  32. Dr Salmabanu Luhar – Marie Skłodowska-Curie Postdoctoral Fellow (UK Research and Innovation), University of Sheffield
  33. Jennifer Maher – Principal Mechanical Engineer, Sellafield Ltd.
  34. Elena Martin Fernandes – Principal Highways Engineer, Waterman Aspen
  35. Giulia Marzetti – Senior Carbon Management Consultant, Mott MacDonald
  36. Jenny McLaughlin – Project Manager, Heathrow Airport Ltd.
  37. Krishna Mistry – Body Engineering Programme Lead, Volta Trucks
  38. Faith Natukunda – System Capability Manager, National Grid ESO
  39. Titilola Oliyide – Senior Process Safety Engineer, Supercritical Solutions
  40. Stacey Peel – Director
  41. Claire Price – Associate Director, WSP UK
  42. Caroline Roche – Senior Engineer, Capula Ltd
  43. Anne Seldon – Chief Engineer – Product Safety & Compliance, WAE Technologies
  44. Nikita Shetti – Payload System Engineer, Airbus Defence and Space
  45. Professor Nicola Symonds – Director, nC2 Engineering Consultancy, University of Southampton 
  46. Joanne Turner – Project Director, Amey Consulting 
  47. Shiyao Wang – Computer Vision Engineer, Intel Corporation 
  48. Roshni Wijesekera – Senior Fire Engineer, The Fire Surgery Limited 
  49. Catherine Wood – Maintain Design Integrity Group Lead, EDF Energy
  50. Louise Wood – Senior LEV Engineer, Airducts Design Ltd & Airducts Engineering Ltd.

The 2023 WE50 Judges are: 

  • Lynsey Seal QFSM CEng BEng (Hons) FIFireE AMIMechE MWES, Head Judge London Fire Brigade 
  • Lalitha Ande, Senior Systems Engineer, Cubic 
  • Eneni Bambara-Abban, Techover Foundation, 2022 IET Young Woman Engineer WES Prize Winner 
  • Jamie Chestnutt 
  • John Devlin, Programmes Director, Frazer-Nash Consultancy 
  • Verena Hefti MBE, CEO and Founder, LeadersPlus 
  • Chrisma Jain, Transport for London, WES Trustee 
  • Hannah GCHQ 
  • Mark McBride-Wright, Equal Engineers 
  • Emily Spearman, BP, WES Trustee 
  • Joanna Vezey BEng (Hons) MSt CEng MICE, Technical Director, Europe
  • Jason Watson-Massey, Leonardo 
  • Louise Whiting, Safety and Reliability Society 

The 50 highly commended nominations were:

Caro Ames, Data Science Strategy Lead, Arup
Dr Najah Battikh, Course Director or Chemical Engineering, Canterbury Christ Church University
Leah Bentley, Process Engineer, Spirit Energy
Mirjeta Cakiqi, Safety Risk Consultant, Arup
Dr Mikela Chatzimichailidou, Associate Global Rail Systems Strategist, Arup
Jane Clarkson, Associate Director, Wardell Armstrong LLP
Victoria Cope, Commercial & Category Director, UK Health Security Agency
Lucy Crowther, Catalyst Chief Engineer, Defence Equipment and Support
Eleanor Dallas, Principal Design Engineer, NXP Laboratories Ltd
Louise de Peyrecave, Highways Market Lead, Atkins Ltd
Dr Sarah Dunn, Senior Lecturer in Structural Engineering, Newcastle University
Emma Fitzgerald, Regional Director Defence Sector Lead, AECOM
Dr Sarah Fletcher, Senior Research Fellow, Cranfield University
Sarah Hadfield, Head of Cyber Risk and UK Regulation, National Grid
Louise Harris, Principal Civil Engineer, Heathrow Airport Ltd
Anna Hart, Senior Antenna Engineer, Leonardo UK
Dr Rachael Hazael, Senior Lecturer in Advanced Protective Materials, Cranfield University
Dr Jane Hodgkinson, Reader in Applied Photonics, Cranfield University
Jennifer Humphries, Radiation Protection Advisor, Sellafield Ltd
Rouha Hussaina, Head of Energy Transition Services, ERC Evolution Ltd
Philippa Ivens, Senior Transport Consultant, Arup
Dr Ewa Jakubczyk, Research Fellow, University of Surrey
Jade Kimpton, Apprentice Substation Engineer, National Grid
Dr Kalliopi Kousi, Lecturer of Chemical Engineering, University of Surrey
Stephanie Lavallin, Project Manager, AB Dynamics
Laura Mageean, Programme Specialist, Environment Agency
Mei-Yee Man Oram, Access and Inclusive Environments Lead, Arup
Dr Maryam Mehrnezhad, Lecturer, Royal Holloway University of London
Geeta Morar, System Safety and Assurance Manager, Ground Transportation Systems UK Ltd
Katherine Morgan, Senior Civil Engineer, Atkins
Briony Mucklow, Associate Principal Engineer, Atkins
Farai Mwashita, International Projects Engineer, CBRE
Ada Nwadigo, Civil & Geo Engineer, Laing O’Rourke
Sara Owen, Senior Safety Engineer, Arup
Dr Paula Palade, Artificial Intelligence (AI) Ethics & Standardisation Manager, Jaguar Land Rover
Rachel Paley, Nuclear Safety Engineer, Atkins
Alison Pepper, Associate Technical Director, Arcadis
Jemma Quin, Temporary Works DI, Robertson
Angelica Rutherford-Hacon, Senior Consultant, Finch Consulting
Alexis Salter, Electrical Certification Engineer, Safran Seats GB
Sergeeva Ekaterina, Product Lead, Arrival UK Ltd
Professor Zahra Sharif Khodaei, Professor in Aerospace Structural Durability and Health Monitoring, Imperial College London
Laura Shrieves, Engineering Director, Thales Ground Transport
Catherine Sinclair, Group Manager Field Engineering, FM Global
Ayo Sokale, Chartered Civil Engineer, Environment Agency
Tracy Thomas, Principal Warhead Safety Assurance Engineer, AWE
Dr Shruti Turner, Machine Learning Engineer, Halen
Sally Walters, Operations Engineer, Stantec
Bethany Williamson, Civil Engineering Degree Apprentice, Balfour Beatty Vinci
Kristina Wolf, PhD Student Geospatial Systems, Newcastle University