WES Awards

Picture saying Nominations now open

Nominations are now open for Men As Allies and Amy Johnson Inspiration Awards 2024. Nominations close on the 13 September 2024.

Find out below about previous winners of the awards.

Amy Johnson Inspiration Award

The Amy Johnson Inspiration Award, launched in 2016, honours an individual not currently working as an engineer or within the applied sciences who has made a truly remarkable achievement in furthering diversity within these fields.
The 2023 winner was Fiona Tatton, Editor in Chief of Womanthology.

Fiona Tatton Amy Johnson Winner

Tej S Bahia Winner of men as allies

Men As Allies Award

The Men As Allies Award seeks to celebrate a male working within the engineering, technical and applied sciences sectors, who has gone above and beyond the call of duty to support his female colleagues, and address the gender imbalance within engineering and applied sciences in general.
The 2023 winner was Tej Bahia, Business Director at Arcadis.

Gillian Skinner Award

WES can make up to two awards annually in memory of former Member Gillian Skinner.

The recipients could be women or men – individuals who help nationally or in their local cluster.  Anybody who makes a contribution to WES is eligible, they could be working, retired, on a career break, students, members of a board etc. Their help could be brief (e.g. at conference) or steadily over a long time.

Laura luckhurst Gillian Skinner Winner

Angeliki Loukatou Karen Burth Winner

Karen Burt Memorial Award

The Karen Burt Memorial Award is for the best newly qualified chartered engineer.

The 2023 winner was Dr Kelly Loukatou, Institution of Engineering and Technology.

The WES Prize

The Women’s Engineering Society Prize is awarded to a young female engineer who is able to engage and inspire young people’s involvement in Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM), and is awarded at the Young Woman Engineer Awards in London organised by the IET.

The 2023 winner is Zainab Adigun. More details about the 2023 Young Women Engineer of the Year awards can be found here.

Jo Douglas HArris Isabel Hardwich Winner

Isabel Hardwich Medal

The Isabel Hardwich Medal is awarded to a WES Member who has made an outstanding and sustained contribution to the Women’s Engineering Society over a number of years and gone above and beyond the call of duty.

The 2023 winner was Jo Douglas-Harris, Founder of the WES Lottie Tour and founding member and Chair of WES Bath.