WE50 2020 – Sustainability

The 2020 Top 50 Women in Engineering: Sustainability winners are listed below (in alphabetical order):

  • Yasmin Ali, Energy Innovation Project Manager, UK Government, Department of Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy
  • Laura Bishop, Director, Infinitas Design Ltd
  • Laura Brown, Energy Research Programme Manager, Newcastle University
  • Adele Carey, Senior Sustainability Engineer, Arup
  • Dr Ellie Cosgrave, Lecturer in Urban Innovation and Policy, UCL
  • Carla Denyer, Councillor, Bristol City Council
  • Dr Pamela Dugdale, Engineering Teacher, International Study Centre Liverpool John Moores University
  • Rhiannon Evans, Technician, Aecom
  • Laura Frost, Associate, Cities & Climate Change, Arup
  • Ritu Garg, Senior Transport Engineer, Arup
  • Dr Barnali Ghosh, Technical Director, Mott MacDonald
  • Dr Rachel Gomes, Associate Professor, Chemical and Environmental Engineering, University of Nottingham
  • Professor Deborah Greaves, Head of School of Engineering, Computing and Mathematics, University of Plymouth
  • Professor Sandy Halliday, Director, Gaia Group Ltd
  • Caireen Hargreaves, Associate Director Product Sustainability, AstraZeneca
  • Kelly Harrison, Associate, Heyne Tillett Steel
  • Martha Hart, Senior Consultant, Ove Arup & Partners Ltd
  • Laura Hepburn, Director, Greenology
  • Katherine Ibbotson, Programme Carbon and Cost Manager, Environment Agency
  • Michelle Johnson, Technical Director, Wood Environment and Infrastructure UK Ltd
  • Jennifer Kelly, Associate, Arup
  • Eftychia Koursari, Civil Engineer, Amey
  • Clare Lavelle, Energy Consulting Leader – Scotland, Arup
  • Professor Claire Lucas, Associate Professor (Reader), University of Warwick; Incoming Professor of Engineering Teaching and Learning, King’s College, London
  • Dr Xuanli Luo, Research Associate, The University of Nottingham
  • Brogan MacDonald, Structural Engineer, Ramboll
  • Professor Mercedes Maroto-Valer, Champion UK Industrial Decarbonisation Research and Innovation Centre (IDRIC), Heriot-Watt University
  • Dr Kerry Mashford, Non-Executive Director, Portfolio
  • Senamiso Mathobela, Delivery Manager (TNCC), National Grid UK
  • Mhairi McCann, Founder & CEO, Youth STEM 2030
  • Gill Nowell, DSO Lead, Electralink
  • Professor Rachel Oliver, Professor, Director of the Cambridge Centre for Gallium Nitride, CSO of Poro Technology, University of Cambridge
  • Jo Parker, Director, Watershed Associates
  • Sally Povolotsky, Low Carbon Business Development Consultant, Straight 6 Design Ltd
  • Philippa Ross, Associate Director, Atkins
  • Anusha Shah, Director – Resilient Cities, Arcadis
  • Sandra Šlihte, Head of Engineering, Vattenfall Heat UK
  • Holly Smith, Civil Engineer, Skanska UK
  • Chitra Srinivasan, Real Time Control Software Engineer, United Kingdom Atomic Energy Authority
  • Annie Stapley, Assistant Engineer, WSP
  • Dr Alisa Stratulat, Innovation Manager, Groupe Atlantic
  • Judith Sykes, Senior Director, Expedition Engineering
  • Dr Petra Szilágyi, Lecturer in Functional Materials, Queen Mary University of London
  • Dr Elizabeth Tennyson, Marie Skłodowska-Curie Actions Fellow, University of Cambridge
  • Dr Camilla Thomson, Chancellor’s Fellow in Energy, The University of Edinburgh
  • Dr Mi Tian, Lecturer, University of Exeter
  • Professor Valeska Ting, Professor of Smart Nanomaterials, University of Bristol
  • Kusum Trikha, Senior Engineer, WSP
  • Jana Marie Weber, PhD Candidate, University of Cambridge
  • Laura Williams, Health, Safety, Environment and Quality (HSEQ) advisor, Keller​
Celebrating the 2020 WE50 winners
The judges stated that the standard of the nominations was extremely high and has highlighted the exceptional attainments made by women in sustainability and is testament to the difference that female engineers are making in shaping the world.

Sally Sudworth, the Environment Agency’s National Programme Manager for Asset Management & FCRM Sustainability Lead (Net Zero Carbon Programme), WES Honorary Secretary and WE50 Head Judge said, The panel of judges was thrilled by with the outstanding achievements demonstrated by all of the winners and were thrilled by the difference being made by the candidates”.WES is proud to award the Top 50 Women who have contributed to sustainability within engineering and related roles. In 2020 the presentation of the awards took place online. Winners had trophies sent directly to their homes, and posed for a picture with their trophy. These images were compiled into the montage above.

Judges of the WE50 Awards

The judges for the WE50 2020 awards were as follows

  • Sally Sudworth, National Programme Manager for Asset Management & FCRM Sustainability Lead, Environment Agency, (Head Judge)
  • Ann-Christin Andersen, Rotork Board Member, Chair ESG Committee, CEO 4ADA, also Board Member for Maersk Drilling, Glitre Energi, and Quantafuel.
  • Richard Coackley, Past President & Sustainability Leader, Institute of Civil Engineers
  • Andrew Conway, BAI Communications
  • Louise Kingham, CEO, Energy Institute
  • Davide Stronati, Global Sustainability Leader, Mott Macdonald
  • Joanna Wood, Group Engineering Director, BAE Systems
  • Elizabeth Donnelly, CEO, Women’s Engineering Society