WES Awards

Amy Johnson Inspiration Award

The Amy Johnson Inspiration Award, launched in 2016, honours an individual not currently working as an engineer or within the applied sciences who has made a truly remarkable achievement in furthering diversity within these fields. The 2023 winner was Fiona Tatton, Editor in Chief of Womanthology.

To find our more details of the award including previous winners visit

Gillian Skinner Award

WES can make up to two awards annually in memory of former Member Gillian Skinner.

The recipients could be women or men – individuals who help nationally or in their local cluster.  Anybody who makes a contribution to WES is eligible, they could be working, retired, on a career break, students, Cluster Contacts, members of a board…  Their help could be brief (e.g. at conference) or steadily over a long time.

Previous winners here

Isabel Hardwich Medal

The Isabel Hardwich Medal is awarded to a WES Member who has made an outstanding and sustained contribution to the Women’s Engineering Society over a number of years and gone above and beyond the call of duty.

Men as Allies Award

The Men As Allies Award seeks to celebrate a male engineer, or professional male working within the engineering, technical and applied sciences sectors, who has gone above and beyond the call of duty to support his female colleagues, and address the gender imbalance within engineering and applied sciences in general. The 2023 winner was Tej Bahia, Business Director at Arcadis.

To find our more details of the award including previous winners and how to apply visit

Image of Zainab Adigun

The WES Prize

The Women’s Engineering Society Prize is awarded to a young female engineer who is able to engage and inspire young people’s involvement in Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM), and is awarded at the Young Woman Engineer Awards in London organised by the IET.

The 2023 winner is Zainab Adigun. More details about the 2023 Young Women Engineer of the Year awards can be found here.

Full details of the WES prize including previous winners are available here.

Karen Burt Memorial Award

The Karen Burt Memorial Award is for the best newly qualified chartered engineer.

The 2023 winner was Dr Kelly Loukatou, Institution of Engineering and Technology.

Karen Burt Details

WES Awards rewarding Members who have gone above and beyond.

The Isabel Hardwich Medal is presented to WES members who have made an outstanding contribution above the call of duty to the Society over a sustained period.

The Gillian Skinner Award recognises "behind the scenes" contributions to WES by volunteers.

Become a WES Partner

Engineer a more diverse future and empower your female engineers with the insights, expertise, and drive to thrive.