WES offers awards to celebrate those men and women who deserve recognition for their services to engineering and furthering the diversity agenda.

WES is proud to announce our 2017 Award Winners

The Karen Burt Award is for the best newly qualified chartered engineer.  
2017 winner: Madeleine Jones, nominated by the Institute of Chemical Engineering

The Amy Johnson Inspiration Award, launched in 2016, honours an individual who has made a truly remarkable achievement in furthering the diversity agenda within engineering and applied sciences.
2017 winner: Dr Alice White

The Men as Allies Award, new for 2017, seeks to celebrate a male engineer, or professional male working within the engineering, technical and applied sciences sectors, who has gone above and beyond the call of duty to support his female colleagues, and address the gender imbalance within engineering and applied sciences in general.
2017 winner: Dr Will Whittow

The Isabel Hardwich Medal is presented to WES members who have made an outstanding contribution above the call of duty to the Society over a sustained period.
2017 winners: Milada Williams and Linda Maynard

The Gillian Skinner Award recognises "behind the scenes" contributions to WES by volunteers.
2017 winners: Jo Douglas and Adriana Vargas

The WES Prize is for the best young engineer.  This was awarded to Bethan Murray in 2016, the 2017 winner will be announced in December 2017

Other Awards and Grants

WES Lady Finiston Awards

Doris Gray Awards