Amy Johnson Inspiration Award

The Amy Johnson Inspiration Award, launched in 2016, honours an individual who is not currently working as an engineer or within the applied sciences who has made a truly remarkable achievement in furthering diversity within engineering and applied sciences. This award serves to recognise their efforts in inspiring more women to enter and/or remain in the engineering and technical professions.  We invite also male nominees and those with no engineering qualifications to apply.

Our 2020 Winner

Image removed.Congratulations to Fiona Hopkinson who was selected as winner of the 2020 Amy Johnson Inspiration Award, having been the driving force behind a school’s cultural transformation to a leading school for STEM as noted in the Good Schools Guide. She also supported teams to win the 'TeenTech Awards, is an MSc student at the University of Liverpool reading Organisational Psychology, a non-executive Trustee of TeenTech and a volunteer for the Tech Talent Charter.

Fiona is an outstanding example of an individual who is not an engineer, yet understands the importance of raising the profile of STEM with young people and works tirelessly to improve girls' perception of engineering.   Head Judge Alex Knight commented that “Fiona's dedication and commitment to furthering diversity within engineering and applied sciences is remarkable. She is an inspiration to others and a well-deserved winner of this award.”

Highly Commended

Image removed.The judges wished to recognise the achievements of Naziyah Mahmood, awarding her Highly Commended for the 2020 Amy Johnson Inspiration Award.  Head Judge Alex Knight commented that “Naziyah is clearly passionate and proactive about improving diversity in engineering. The judges were impressed with her drive, widespread reach and impact through her gender equality programme. She is well deserved of this highly commended award and recognition.”



Read more about our previous winners here

Who was Amy Johnson?

Amy Johnson (1903-1941), was a famous English aviator and former WES President, and the first woman pilot to fly solo from Britain to Australia.  Read more about Amy Johnson