WES Young Members' Board

The WES YMB (Young Members' Board) consists of twelve women under the age of 30 who are working, training or studying in an engineering field. The board was formed in June 2016.
The aim of the YMB is to make WES more accessible to younger members, to reflect their concerns and priorities and provide input to the WES Council, allowing the voices of younger women engineers to be heard. The women making up the YMB also act as role models for young women considering engineering and applied science. The YMB enable younger WES members to influence the direction of travel of WES, with the opportunity for personal, professional and leadership development through board experience and involvement in projects and strategy setting.

Image removed.

The board members are:

  1. Carmen Zaragoza, Siemens
  2. Sophie Hutchins, Leonardo (chair)
  3. Susie Little, ARUP
  4. Kim Everitt
  5. Sotira Georgiou, Ramboll
  6. Annabel Downing, Network Rail
  7. Kate Mactear, University of Bristol
  8. Victoria Barbour-Smith Arup (vice chair)
  9. Deborah Harris, Rolls Royce
  10. Laura Davies, Dyson
  11. Vera Ngosi
  12. Jennifer Glover


About the YMB

View the YMB video for an insight into the purpose of the board and some of the individual views of the members of the inaugural board in 2016

Image removed.

The Board sets their own agenda of projects and activities in line with WES vision, and is supporting the “100 for 100” campaign, part of the WES Centenary activities. As part of “100 for 100”, WES will ask one hundred companies to commit to a stretching set of actions to support diversity and inclusion in engineering during 2019, the one hundredth anniversary of WES.

Lottie Tour



Visit our Youtube Channel 

If you would like to contact the board please e-mail ymb@wes.org.uk