The Isabel Hardwich Medal is awarded to a WES Member who has made an outstanding and sustained contribution to the Women’s Engineering Society over a number of years and gone above and beyond the call of duty.

Congratulations to Jo Douglas-Harris on being the 2023 recipient of the Isabel Hardwich Medal.

Previous winners

2022   Dawn Childs and Dr Katherine Critchley

2021    Sally Sudworth

2020    Dawn Bonfield

2019    Petra Gratton

2018    Dr Nina Baker

2017    Milada Williams and Linda Maynard

2016    Dawn Fitt and Jackie Longworth

2015    Dr Carol Marsh and Anne Wiseman

2014    Alex Walker

2013    Grazyna Whapshott

2012    Dr Jan Peters

2010    Pam Wain and Betty McCarthy

2007    Dorothy Hatfield

2005    Connie Shirley

2004    Michael Sanderson, retired chief executive of SEMTA

2003    Sue Bird and Nicole Rockliff

[there was a temporary cessation of the award)

1992    Hilda Blount

1991    May Maple

1990    Cicely Thompson

1989    John Hardwich (Isabel’s husband)

1988    Elizabeth Laverick

1987    Sheila Waddell