The Inaugural Top 50 Women in Engineering

​The Inaugural Top 50 Women in Engineering 2016 (WE50)

In 2016 as part of International Women in Engineering Daythe Women’s Engineering Society in partnership with The Telegraph published the inaugural list of 50 influential women in engineering in the UK.

The Top 50 Women in Engineering 2016

  • Roma Agrawal CEng, MIStructE, MIET, FRICS   Structural Engineer, Interserve
  • Professor Helen Atkinson CBE, FREng   Head of Department of Engineering, University of Leicester
  • Danella Bagnall   Chief Product Engineer, Jaguar Land Rover
  • Faye Banks FIET, FCMI, FinstLm, CEng, Cmgr   Head of Operations North East, National Grid
  • Alison Baptiste CEng, FICE, BEng, MSc, MCIWEM   Director of Strategy and Investment, Flood and Coastal Risk Management, Environment Agency
  • Jayne Bryant FREng, CEng, FIET, FWES   Engineering Director Defence Information, BAE Systems
  • Muffy Calder OBE, FRSE, FREng    Vice-Principal and Head of College of Science and Engineering, University of Glasgow
  • Liv Carroll DIC, CGeol, FGS, FIMMM   Chartered Geologist, Geological Society
  • Jacqueline Castle CEng, FIMechE, FRAeS   Chief Engineer A330neo Wing, Airbus UK
  • Amanda Chessell CBE, FREng    Distinguished Engineer, IBM
  • Dawn Childs CEng, FICE, FIMechE, FRAeS, FWES   Group Engineering Director, Merlin Entertainments Group
  • Naomi Climer FREng, CEng, FIET   President, IET, Institution of Engineering and Technology
  • Susan Dio   Chief Executive Officer, BP Shipping Limited
  • Dr Michèle Dix CBE, CEng, FICE, FCIHT, FCILT   Managing Director, Crossrail 2, Transport for London (TfL)
  • Professor Dame Ann Dowling   President of the Royal Academy of Engineering, Professor of Mechanical Engineering, Deputy Vice-Chancellor, University of Cambridge
  • Elizabeth Eastaugh   Global Head – Customer Experience, Expedia
  • Jane Gartshore FInstR   Director, Cool Concerns Ltd
  • Professor Lynn Gladden CBE, FRS, FREng   Shell Professor of Chemical Engineering, University of Cambridge
  • Dr Paulina Bohdanowicz-Godfrey   Director Energy and Environment, Hilton Worldwide
  • Dame Judith Hackitt CBE, FREng Chair, EEF
  • Professor Dame Wendy Hall DBE, FRS, FREng   Director, Web Science Institute, University of Southampton
  • Eur Ing Louise Hardy CEng, FICE, CMgr, FCMI, FWES   Non Executive Director, Sirius Minerals Plc
  • Professor Caroline Hargrove CEng, MIMechE   Technical Director, McLaren Applied Technologies
  • Professor Karen Holford FREng, FWES, FLSW, CEng, FIMechE   Pro Vice-Chancellor, Cardiff University
  • Ying Hu   Manufacturing Systems Engineer, Rolls Royce Plc
  • Dame Sue Ion FREng, FRS    Chair NIRAB, Nuclear Innovation and Research Advisory Board
  • Lady Barbara Judge CBE   Chairman Emeritus, UK Atomic Energy Authority
  • Baroness Brown of Cambridge DBE, FREng   Vice-Chancellor and Chief Executive, Aston University
  • Ailie MacAdam FICE, MIChemE   Managing Director, Europe and Africa, Infrastructure, Bechtel
  • Dr Cathy McClay,   Head of Commercial, Electricity, National Grid
  • Steph McGovern   Presenter, BBC Breakfast
  • Linda Miller PEng (USA)   Senior Project Manager, Bechtel
  • Dervilla Mitchell CBE   Director, Arup
  • Heidi Mottram OBE   Chief Executive Officer, Northumbrian Water Group
  • Alison Nimmo CBE   Chief Executive, The Crown Estate
  • Belinda Oldfield FICE, AMIoW   General Manager, Scottish Water
  • Chi Onwurah MP, CEng, FIET, FCGI   MP, UK Government
  • Isobel Pollock-Hulf OBE, CEng, Hon DSc, FIMechE, FCGI   Master, Worshipful Company of Engineers
  • Dr Haifa Ross   Head of School of Engineering, Solihull College and University Centre
  • Helen Samuels   United Utilities
  • Dr Angela Seeney FEI, CEng, CEng, CPet Eng   Director Technology, Supply Chain and Decommissioning, Oil & Gas Authority
  • Dr Nina Skorupska CBE, FEI   Chief Executive, Renewable Energy Association
  • Jane Simpson   Chief Engineer, Network Rail
  • Dana Skelley OBE   Director of Asset Management, Transport for London
  • Rachel Skinner CEng, FICE, TPP, MCIHT   Director, Development, WSP Parsons Brinckerhoff
  • Dr Debbie Smith  OBE, FIFE, CPhys, MInstP   Managing Director, BRE Global
  • Vicky Stewart MIOA, MWED   Associate Acoustic Consultant, Atkins
  • Professor Eleanor Stride   Professor of Engineering Science, University of Oxford
  • Dr Alison Vincent   Chief Technology Officer, Cisco International Ltd
  • Katherine Ward CEng, MICE   Group Head, Offshore Wind, Atkins

The 2016 Judging Panel

The campaign was jointly coordinated by the Women’s Engineering Society and the Telegraph and sponsored by Scottish Power, Mars Petcare, Jaguar Land Rover, SEMTA, IET and BAE Systems.

Judges of the competition in 2016 were:

  • Dawn Bonfield MBE Chief Executive, Women’s Engineering Society
  • Allan Cook CBE Chairman of Atkins, Chairman of SEMTA, Non-Executive Director of BIS
  • Professor John Perkins CBE FREng Previously BIS Chief Scientific Adviser
  • Michelle Richmond Membership and Professional Development Director of the Institution of Engineering and Technology
  • Fiona Tatton Founder and Editor of Womanthology