Womens Engineering Society: Inspiring women as engineers, scientists and technical leaders

The WES Prize

The WES Prize

The Women’s Engineering Society Prize is awarded to a young female engineer who is able to engage and inspire young people’s involvement in Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM), and is awarded at the YWE Awards in London organised by the IET.

The winner of this award receives a cheque for £750, a certificate, and the chance to represent the Women's Engineering Society for a year. The winner will be invited to participate in WES' activities and will also represent WES and the IET at school events and women’s engineering network events throughout the year.  These opportunities will offer excellent networking opportunities with influential people and raise your profile within the engineering industry.


The 2014 winner is Lucy Ackland, Project Manager- Additive Manufacturing, Renishaw PLC. Congratulations Lucy.

See the press report here.
Lucy is a Project Manager in the Additive Manufacturing Products Division of Renishaw plc, currently working on the next generation of metal 3D printing machines.

Read more about Lucy here.

Watch a video of the 2014 finalists

The 2014 YWE Awards were presentated at an award ceremony on 10 December in London.


Meet the previous WES Prize Winners here


YWE Award

Our supporters